CMMI Process Improvement & Certification

The CMMI Process Improvement & Certification process enables software product organizations and software services companies to benchmark their processes so as to deliver consistently high quality software products and services. CMMI can be used by organizations to cover diverse process areas of software development such as:

  • Configuration management
  • Quality Assurance
  • Verification & Validation
  • Risk management
  • Requirements management
  • Supplier management
  • Project Management
  • Interface Compatibility
  • Make-buy or reuse analysis
  • Capacity management
  • Disaster recovery, and many more

CMMI maps organizational process maturity to 5 levels:

  • Level 1-Initial: Processes unpredictable and poorly managed
  • Level 2-Managed: Processes defined by nature of projects and is reactive
  • Level 3-Defined: Processes defined by the organization, and are reactive
  • Level 4-Quantitatively Managed: Processes are measured and controlled
  • Level 5-Optimizing: Organisational focus is on process improvement

Each of these levels could be attributed to software product companies, in which case the applicable model is referred to as CMMI-Product & Service Development (CMMI-DEV). Where it is to be attributed to Software Services, it is referred to as CMMI-Service Acquisition and Management (CMMI-SVC).
A CMMI Certified software products/services organization enjoys the following benefits:

  • Provides the organization with an integrated vision of improvement
  • Decreased cost of quality
  • Improved on-time delivery
  • Improved quality
  • Faster returns-on-investment

Pentagon is well equipped to work with you in the CMMI assessment process by performing Standard CMMI Assessment Methodology for Process Improvement (SCAMPI) Appraisals of your software development processes. SCAMPI Appraisals are performed at three levels, namely, SCAMPI Level A, Level B and Level C. These three levels map to the CMMI Levels 3, 4 and 5 respectively.